Yanga SC defeats Mapinduzi Cup winner Simba SC

Timu ya Wananchi emerged as champion after he beat his Kariakoo opponents in the shootout after a 90-minute standoff

Young Africans (Yanga SC) won the Mapinduzi Cup after beating archers Simba SC 4-3 at Amaan Stadium in Zanzibar on Wednesday.

After a 0-0 full-time draw, the cup champions had to be settled on the spot. Francis Kahata, Chris Mugalu and Gadiel Michael scored for Simba as Meddie Kagere was refused by the woodwork while Joash Onyango’s effort was saved by Farouk Shikhalo.

Yanga scored his shots on goal via Tuisila Kisinda, Shaibu Abdalla, Zawadi Mauya and Saido Ntibazonkiza while Mukoko Tonombe was denied by Beno Kakolanya.

Hassan Dilunga’s effort in the sixth minute hit the woodwork as Farouk Shikhalo stretched but couldn’t reach the ball. Simba won a free kick to the right position, David Kameta delivered and Yanga’s clearance landed on Dilunga’s path whose final blow could not have had any impact.

Yanga nearly opened the scoring in the ninth minute as Ntibazonkiza and Haruna Niyonzima made their way into Simba’s penalty area, but a quick interception from Gadiel saved the day for the Msimbazi club who were foiled by the quick attack from Yanga.

Timu ya Wananchi reportedly broke the deadlock in the 25th minute when Kennedy Juma failed to clear a free kick as his weak header was caught by Sarpong but Beno Kakolanya got out of his line and recovered the ball before the Ghanaian could to return to his place.

The second half started on a balanced note as neither side created a significant chance to open the scoring in the opening 15 minutes.

In the 78th minute, Kahata was on his way to goal after being put through by Mugalu but a raised offside flag abruptly ended his trip.

The introduction of Ibrahim Ajibu and Mugalu tilted the dominance of the game slightly in favor of Wekundu wa Msimbazi in the last 20 minutes.

In the 83rd and 84th minutes, Onyango, who had a good game and was named man of the match, made two critical clearances to keep Kisinda and Waziri Junior from breaking the deadlock.

Yanga faced rivals Kariakoo without nine players, including winger Carlos Carlinhos, Balama Mapinduzi, Lamine Moro, Yassin Mustapha, Deus Kaseke, Ditram Nchimbi, Feisal Salum and Farid Mussa.

In contrast, midfielder Clatous Chama, Luis Miquissone, Larry Bwalya, Jonas Mkude, Pascal Wawa, Charles Ilanfya, Aishi Manula, John Bocco, Erasto Nyoni, Shomari Kapombe and Said Ndemla were absent for Simba.

Yanga SC XI: Farouk Shikhalo, Adeyum Saleh, Abdallah Shaibu, Saidi Juma, Mukoko Tonombe, Tuisila Kisinda, Zawadi Mauya, Michael Sarpong, Saidi Ntibazonkiza, Haruna Niyonzima,

Subs: Ramadhan Kabwili, Metacha Mnata, Paul Godfrey, Abdulkarim Yunus, Arafat Hussein, Waziri Junior, Omar Chibada.

Simba SC XI: Beno Kakolanya, David Kameta, Gadiel Michael, Kennedy Juma, Joash Onayngo, Taddeo Lwanga, Hassan Dilunga, Mzamiru Yassin, Meddie Kagere, Francis Kahata, Miraji Athumani,

Subs: Ally Salim, Ibrahim Ajibu, Chris Mugalu, Bernard Morrison, Ian Nyoni, Kelvin Moyo, Bernard Agele.


Source link

Back to top button