What time does the Indy 500 start today? Full schedule and schedule for the 2021 race in Indianapolis

Racing fans hoping for something a little more normal will be treated to the Indy 500 on Sunday.

The race, which was moved to August of last year and without fans, is back to a start date in May and will welcome 135,000 fans back to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

In the 105th race of the race, Scott Dixon will be the first car fan to line up at the start after taking pole position in the Fast Nine Shootout last Sunday. He hasn’t won the Indy 500 since 2008, while last year’s winner Takuma Sato will seek his third Indy 500 victory in a bid to be the first consecutive champion since Helio Castroneves in 2001. and 2002.

Sato will run in 15th place, while Castroneves will take 8th place.

Below is all the information you need to keep up with the 2021 Indy 500 schedule with broadcast coverage and race start time.

MORE: Watch Today’s Indy 500 Live on fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

What time does the Indy 500 start in 2021?

  • Race: 105th Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Dated: Sunday May 30
  • Start time: 11 a.m.ET (12:45 p.m. ET Green Flag)
  • TV channel: NBC
  • Direct: NBC Sports | Peacock | fuboTV

Coverage of the Indy 500 will begin at 9 a.m. on NBC Sports Network before switching to network coverage on NBC at 11 a.m. until 4 p.m., when post-race coverage resumes on NBC Sports.

During the race, Leigh Diffey will summon play-by-play again while Townsend Bell and Paul Tracy will provide analysis. Mike Tirico will host the pre and post race coverage alongside Danica Patrick. In the Peacock Pit Box, seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson will join Steve Letarte to provide analysis.

MORE: Here are the 5 closest Indianapolis 500 finishes in racing history

Indianapolis 500 Calendar

Preparation for the Indy 500 has taken place over the past few days with cars trying to qualify for the race and others trying to seal their pole positions for the start of the race.

But now, with the race finally here, the program begins early Sunday morning, with the garages opening at 5 a.m. and the gates opening at 6 a.m. The cars will not be on the starting grid until 10:30 am and the race will not actually start until 12:45 pm. Then the pilots will compete for the next three hours to determine the 2021 winner.

Here’s the full schedule for Friday’s coverage:

Time Event TV channel
5 a.m. ET: The garage opens
6 a.m. ET: Open doors
6:30 a.m.ET: Technical control
8:15 a.m.ET: Cars pushed into the pit lane
10:30 a.m.ET: Cars on the starting grid NBCSN
11:47 a.m.ET: Pilot presentations NBC
12:38 p.m. ET: Command to start the motors NBC
12:45 p.m. ET: Green flag for the 105th Indy 500 NBC
3:45 p.m. ET (Est.): Checkered flag NBC

Indy 500 2021 range

Scott Dixon came close to taking pole position in 2020, behind Marco Andretti by just 0.0113 seconds in the Fast Nine Shootout.

Dixon wouldn’t be denied this time around. He finished in first place ahead of Colton Herta with an average time of 231.685. Dixon had the distinction of being the last driver to participate in the shootout and was able to see the time he needed to take pole position.

It was the first time since 2017 that Dixon would start in first place in the race.

Dixon’s qualifying time was not only quick for the 2021 field, but it was one of the fastest ever. Only Tony Stewart (233.1 mph), Roberto Guerrero (232.482), Dixon in 2017 (232.164) and Helio Castroneves (231.725) achieved faster average speeds in the Fast Nine Shootout.

Most of the peloton has been stranded since last Saturday, with the last nine drivers only being solidified in their order during last Sunday’s race.

Here’s a look at the starting lineup for the 2021 Indy 500:

Pos. Car number Driver
1 9 Scott Dixon
2 26 Colton Herta
3 21 Rinus VeeKay
4 20 Ed Carpentier
5 48 Tony kanaan
6 ten Alex Palou
7 28 Ryan hunter-reay
8 6 Helio Castronèves
9 8 Marcus Ericsson
ten 27 Alexandre rossi
11 18 Ed jones
12 5 Pato O’Ward
13 51 Pietro fittipaldi
14 7 Felix Rosenqvist
15 30 Takuma soto
16 29 James hinchcliffe
17 3 Scott McLaughlin
18 15 Graham rahal
19 47 Conor Daly
20 60 Jack Harvey
21 2 Josef newgarden
22 1 JR Hildebrand
23 45 Santino Ferrucci
24 86 Juan Pablo Montoya
25 98 Marco andretti
26 22 Simon pagenaud
27 14 Sebastien bourdais
28 25 Stefan Wilson
29 59 Max Chilton
30 4 Dalton kellett
31 24 Sage Karam
32 12 Will
33 16 Simona de Silvestro

Source link

Back to top button