News

What Really Happens When You Block Someone On Your iPhone


Illustration for the article titled What Really Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Photo: Shutterstock (Shutterstock)

Have you ever wondered what happens when you block someone on your iPhone? What really come?

You can block contacts through your messages, FaceTime, and telephone applications. Blocking a contact in an app will block it at all levels. However, the blocking does not prevent someone from trying to reach you. They won’t get a nice “your number has been blocked” notification from Siri, but they strength start to wonder why you are not responding to their messages.

How to block contacts through Messages on iPhone

To block a number in Messages, open the conversation, tap the contact’s name, number, or picture at the top of the screen, then tap the “i” information icon. Tap the name or number again and scroll to the bottom of the contact screen to “Block this caller”.

When a blocked number tries to send you a text message, it does not come through. If they’re on iOS, they might not even see the “delivered” note in their Messages app, although they might see your chat bubble change from blue (iMessage) to green (SMS). You won’t see anything from your side.

Illustration for the article titled What Really Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Screenshot: Emilie Long

Messages also offers an option to filter texts from senders who are not in your contact list. You will still receive the messages, but they will be sent to a separate “Unknown Senders” inbox. You will also not see notifications for these text messages.

Illustration for the article titled What Really Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Screenshot: Emilie Long

The Unknown Senders tab will appear next to a “Contacts & SMS” tab in Messages if you enable this feature (Settings> Messages> Filter unknown senders).

Illustration for the article titled What Really Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Screenshot: Emilie Long

How to block contacts from calls and FaceTime

To block a number in Phone or FaceTime, tap the “i” information icon next to the number or contact and tap “Block this caller” on the contact screen.

You can manage your blocked contacts in Settings> Phone (or Messages or FaceTime) on your iPhone. Unblock numbers at any time to resume receiving messages, calls and notifications.

Illustration for the article titled What Really Happens When You Block Someone on Your iPhone

Screenshot: David Murphy

Calls from blocked contacts are routed directly to voicemail. On your end, you will see a special “Blocked Messages” folder in your voicemail inbox if they leave a message (located at the bottom of your voicemail list). However, you will not receive any notification of their call.

This story was originally posted in 2016 by Thorin Klosowski and was updated in September 2019 and again on May 3, 2020 and June 11, 2021 by Emily Long. We’ve added screenshots and slightly clarified language from the original piece, and updated it to meet current Lifehacker style guidelines.

.



Source link

Back to top button