Europe News

Watch live: Who will receive the 2022 Nobel Peace Prize?

The winner(s) of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize will be announced at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo on Friday.

You can watch the announcement on this page from 11 CEST.

The award has in the past highlighted groups and activists who attempt to prevent conflict, alleviate hardship and protect human rights.

Last year’s winners have gone through a tough time since receiving the award. Journalists Dmitry Muratov from Russia and Maria Ressa from the Philippines fought for the survival of their news agencies, defying government efforts to silence them.

They were honored last year for “their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a prerequisite for democracy and lasting peace.”

A week of Nobel Prize announcements kicked off on Monday with Swedish scientist Svante Paabo receiving the medicine prize for unlocking the secrets of Neanderthal DNA that provided key insights into our immune system.

Three scientists jointly won the physics prize on Tuesday. Frenchman Alain Aspect, American John F. Clauser and Austrian Anton Zeilinger had shown that tiny particles can maintain a connection with each other even when separated, a phenomenon known as quantum entanglement. , which can be used for specialized computing and to encrypt information.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded on Wednesday to Americans Carolyn R. Bertozzi and K. Barry Sharpless, as well as Danish scientist Morten Meldal for developing a way to “glue molecules together” that can be used to explore cells, map DNA and design drugs that can more precisely target diseases like cancer.

French writer Annie Ernaux won the Nobel Prize for Literature on Thursday. The jury praised her for blending fiction and autobiography in books that fearlessly tap into her experiences as a working-class woman to explore life in France since the 1940s.

The 2022 Nobel Prize in Economics will be announced on Monday.

The prizes carry a cash reward of 10 million Swedish krona (nearly $900,000) and will be presented on December 10. The money comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, in 1895.

euronews Gt

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button