Skip to content

USA Basketball will face Puerto Rico, Mexico and Cuba in the first round of qualifying for the 2023 Basketball World Cup.

The Americans, who won a fourth consecutive Olympic gold medal in Tokyo but only finished seventh in the last Basketball World Cup two years ago, discovered their qualifying opponents in the draw on Tuesday. at the FIBA ​​headquarters in Mies, Switzerland.


It will also be the first major tournament for USA Basketball with Grant Hill as general manager. Hill succeeds Jerry Colangelo in this role; Colangelo has overseen each of the last four Olympics for the United States, helping to assemble the teams that have won gold medals each time.

The United States has won the World Cup five times, most recently in 2014.

There are 80 teams in the qualifying rounds. It starts with a double round robin; all the teams from the different groups in the first round will face the other three teams in their group twice. The first round matches will be played in three different windows: November 20-30, February 21-March 1, and June 27-July 5.

The second round matches begin in August 2022 and run until February 2023. The next World Cup – which will be hosted by the Philippines, Japan and Indonesia – will take place from August 25 to September 10, 2023.

Defending World Cup champions Spain, who are trying to become one of 12 European qualifiers for the tournament, start with matches against Ukraine, Georgia and North Macedonia in the first round.

As hosts, the Philippines and Japan are already in the squad of 32 World Cup teams. The other 30 places will be allocated during qualifying. Indonesia does not automatically get a place as a host country.



The region has 16 qualifying teams, split into four different groups of four teams in the first round, with 12 of those nations advancing to the second round. From there, the field will be reduced to the seven World Cup qualifiers; first, second and third place in the two groups of the second round will make the World Cup, with the best team in fourth place.

In Group A, Argentina – who, barring a change of mind, will be without Luis Scola for a major international tournament for the first time in more than two decades – face Venezuela, Panama and Paraguay in the first round.

Group B includes Brazil, Uruguay, Colombia and Chile. Group C includes Canada, the Dominican Republic, the US Virgin Islands and the Bahamas. And in Group D, it’s the United States, Puerto Rico, Mexico and Cuba.


The same qualifying rules apply in Europe, with groups of four teams coming together for the first round. But the field is double the size of other regions, with 32 teams playing for what will become 12 World Cup places.

As in the other regions, the top three in each group from the first round will advance to the second round, which in the case of Europe will bring the 32 teams down to 24. These 24 nations will be ranked in one of the four seconds. to six teams. round groups, and the top three from each of those groups will make the World Cup.

In Group A, Serbia, Latvia, Belgium and Slovakia will play. Group B includes Greece, Turkey, Great Britain and Belarus. Group C includes Slovenia, Olympic semi-finalists, as well as Croatia, Finland and Sweden. In Group D, it will be Germany, Poland, Israel and Estonia.

Group E is led by Olympic silver medalist France, who will meet Montenegro, Hungary and Portugal. Group F includes Lithuania, the Czech Republic, Bulgaria and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Group G is the Spain-Ukraine-Georgia-North Macedonia group, and Group H will face Italy, Russia, the Netherlands and Iceland.


There are 16 teams vying for what will be five places for the World Cup. They have been split into four groups of four teams for the first round, and the top three of those groups will advance to the second round.

Group A includes Nigeria, Mali, Uganda and Cape Verde. In Group B, it is Tunisia, Cameroon, South Sudan and Rwanda. Group C includes Angola, Côte d’Ivoire, Central African Republic and Guinea. And in Group D, it’s Senegal, Egypt, Congo and Kenya.


16 other teams are still in contention for eight World Cup places, the Philippines and Japan – as host nations – already securing two of them, but they will also make it to qualifying anyway. The third host of the World Cup, Indonesia, has yet to qualify for the World Cup and has not obtained automatic registration.

The top three teams from each group from the first round advance to the second round. Once there, the top three teams will participate in the World Cup, the Philippines and Japan being excluded from this count.

In Group A, it will be New Zealand, South Korea, the Philippines and India. Group B – which comes out as one of the most competitive first-round groups in the entire qualifying tournament – includes Olympic bronze medalists from Australia, China, Japan and Taiwan. Group C includes Jordan, Lebanon, Indonesia and Saudi Arabia. In Group D, it is Iran, Kazakhstan, Syria and Bahrain.

Fox Gt

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.