Usa News

The US Senate has approved the Sunshine Protection Act, but Florida will back down again, for now

Love it or hate it, it’s coming: daylight saving time.

This time, get ready to “fold back”. At 2 a.m. EST on Sunday, November 6, Florida residents will need to set their clocks back one hour.

The US Senate has unanimously approved a bill called the “Sunshine Protection Act”, which was introduced by Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Florida. The bill would permanently extend DST from eight months of the year to a full 12 months. But the measure has not yet been passed by the US House of Representatives, nor signed into law by President Biden.

So it happened: Senate passes bill to make daylight saving time permanent

Hmmm, Didn’t Florida agree to scrap the whole clock-changing thing?

The Florida Panhandle, which is in the Central Time Zone, is also affected by daylight saving time.

Here are a few things to know about daylight saving time, fallback, and leapfrogging.

What is summer time?

According to, “Daylight saving time is the practice of setting clocks one hour ahead of standard time to take advantage of more sunlight during the spring, summer, and fall. Daylight saving time DST is used to save energy and make better use of daylight and was first used in 1908 in Thunder Bay, Canada.

DST became a national standard in 1966 when President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Uniform Time Act, which was established as a way to continue conserving energy. The idea was that if the light goes out longer, you’ll need less time to use the lights in your home.

Is it summer time, daylight saving time or summer time?

It’s summer time. No hyphen, no apostrophe, and no extra S in the sentence. Also, no capitalization. However, for people searching for the term online, these results appear: “Daylight Savings Time”, “Summer Time”, and “Summer Time”.

The Twitterverse is NOT quiet about summer time

Summer time : 7 facts about the time change

Who is responsible for daylight saving time?

The U.S. Department of Transportation oversees the country’s time zones and uniform observance of daylight saving time, according to Time zone monitoring was turned over to the DOT to help track transportation.

When is summer time 2022?

Daylight saving time is 2:00 a.m. EST on Sunday, November 6. Florida residents will need to “roll back” or set their clocks back one hour.

When is summer time 2023?

DST for 2023 will be 2:00 a.m. EST on Sunday, March 12 for “Spring Forward” and 2:00 a.m. EST on Sunday, November 5 for “Return”.

What is the Sun Protection Law?

The Sunshine Protection Act would permanently extend DST from eight months of the year to a full 12 months. The bill was first introduced in January 2021 and reintroduced by Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Florida, and seven other bipartisan members of Congress in March 2022. The bill would make daylight saving time permanent in United States.

Click on here to read the Sunshine Protection Act bill from

What is the Standard Time Law?

The Standard Time Act of 1918 was the first federal law to implement standard time and daylight saving time.

According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, “Federal oversight of time zones began in 1918 with the enactment of the Standard Time Act, which gave the Interstate Commerce Commission responsibility for establishing boundaries between time zones. standard in the United States. This responsibility was transferred from the Interstate Commerce Commission to the DOT when Congress created the DOT in 1966.”

What is the Uniform Time Law?

In 1966, when the United States Department of Transportation was created, the Uniform Time Act established a uniform daylight saving time system across the United States. It simplified when and where daylight saving time would take effect.

Which states do not observe daylight saving time?

Arizona and Hawaii do not recognize daylight saving time. There is also no need to change clocks in Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Which states do not want to observe daylight saving time?

More than 30 states are considering legislation relating to the practice of changing the clocks twice a year, and seven states – Alabama, Arkansas, Nevada, Oregon, Tennessee, Washington and Florida – have already approved the legislation. However, these states still need congressional approval to pass the change.

Which countries observe daylight saving time?

Daylight saving time is used in more than 70 countries around the world and affects more than one billion people each year. Start and end dates vary from country to country.

What are the advantages of daylight saving time?

If permanent DST takes effect, by far the biggest benefit would be no disruption to sleep. No need to change your clock twice a year before, at, or after 2 a.m. on a Sunday in the fall and spring.

Other benefits would be more time during the day to get out, and experts say it’s better for your health – no sleep disruption. No habit of getting ready for bed or waking up to change.

Contributor: Mike Snider, USA TODAY; Ginny Beagan, USA TODAY Network-Florida

This article originally appeared on Florida Today: Daylight Savings Time 2022: When Do We Fall Back and Sunshine Protection Act

yahoo-skynews Gt

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button