Skip to content
Snapchat is rolling out a new real-time location sharing feature similar to a buddy system – TechCrunch


Snapchat is rolling out a new buddy system-like feature that will let users share their real-time location for 15 minutes or a few hours with a friend, the company announced Friday. The global new feature is intended to help users monitor their friends as they continue to resume their social lives, return to campus or start traveling again. It can be used for everyday tasks, like making sure your friend gets home safely at night.

Users can only share their real-time location with individual friends. Snapchat says that for security reasons, users don’t have the option to send their real-time location details to all of their Snapchat friends. The company also notes that both parties must accept each other as friends on Snapchat before they can share their location. When users decide to enable the feature, they receive a reminder that the tool is intended to be used only with close friends and family.

Since 2017, the app has offered users the option to share their location with their friends on the Snap map when using Snapchat. Today, 250 million people use the card to connect with their friends every month. The company says this new real-time feature was built on user feedback on how they were using Snap Map with their friends. He notes that 78% of Snapchat users in the US say they don’t mind sharing their location on the Snap map and they do it because they think it’s a safe way to stay in. contact with others.

The company is launching the new feature as part of a larger partnership with It’s On Us, a national nonprofit organization dedicated to fighting campus sexual assault. In addition to the new feature, the app will also release a new PSA focused on increasing viewer awareness.

The launch of the new feature comes a day after Snapchat announced that users will be able to change their usernames from February 23. The username change will not affect aspects of users’ accounts, such as their friends lists, Snap codes, Snap scores, memories, etc. You will not be able to select usernames that have already been used in the past and you will only be able to change your username once a year.


techcrunch Gt

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.