Skip to content
Shohei Ohtani Joins Elite Company With Unanimous MVP Selection

Has there ever been a doubt?

At one point, there just aren’t enough words to describe how amazing the 2021 season has been for Angels two-way phenomenon Shohei Ohtani. There is no historical comparison in baseball – and the closest is Babe Ruth.

So it was no surprise that when Frank Thomas announced the winner of the MVP AL on Thursday night, not only would it be Ohtani, but it would be unanimously.

MORE: Sporting News 2021 MLB Awards, as voted on by players

The unanimous victory made him the 19th player in Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s MVP award history to receive all votes for first place. Here is a full list of the company he is joining.

Year Player Team League Position
1935 Hank Greenberg Tigers AL 1B
1936 Carl Hubbell giants Netherlands LHP
1953 Al Rosen Indians AL 3B
1956 Mickey coat Yankees AL OF
1966 Franck robinson Orioles AL OF
1967 Orlando cepeda Cardinals Netherlands 1B
1968 Denny mclain Tigers AL RHP
1973 Reggie Jackson Athletics AL OF
1980 Mike Schmidt Philly Netherlands 3B
1988 José Canséco Athletics AL OF
1993 Franck thomas White Sox AL 1B
1994 Jeff Bagwell Astros Netherlands 1B
1996 Ken caminiti Padres Netherlands 3B
1997 Ken Griffey Jr. Sailors AL OF
2002 Barry Bonds giants Netherlands OF
2009 Albert Pujols Cardinals Netherlands 1B
2014 Mike Trout angels AL OF
2015 Bryce harper nationals Netherlands OF
2021 Shohei Ohtani angels AL DH / RHP

MORE: Shohei Ohtani Won AL MVP Cost Sports Betting Over $ 1 Million

And if that wasn’t enough of the story, Ohtani also only became the 29th player to win both MVP and Rookie of the Year. Among this group, he is only the seventh to be unanimously named MVP and to win the title of rookie of the year.

Player Rookie of the Year MVP
Jackie robinson 1947 1949
Don Newcombe 1949 1956
Willie Mays 1951 1954, 1965
Franck robinson 1956 1961, 1966
Orlando cepeda 1958 1967
Willie mccovey 1959 1969
Pierre Rose 1963 1973
Dick allen 1964 1972
Stem Carew 1967 1977
Johnny bench 1968 1970, 1972
Thurman munson 1970 1976
Fred lynn 1975 1975
Andre Dawson 1977 1987
Cal Ripken 1982 1983, 1991
José Canséco 1986 1988
Jeff Bagwell 1991 1994
Albert Pujols 2001 2005, 2008, 2009
Ichiro Suzuki 2001 2001
Ryan howard 2005 2006
Justin verlander 2006 2011
Ryan braun 2007 2011
Dustin Pedroia 2007 2008
Buster posey 2010 2012
Bryce harper 2012 2015, 2021
Mike Trout 2012 2014, 2016, 2019
José Abreu 2014 2020
Kris bryant 2015 2016
Cody bellinger 2017 2019
Shohei Ohtani 2018 2021

MORE: 2021 MLB Award Finalists and Winners

Ohtani joins historic company with the award crowning an unprecedented campaign. He was third in the American League with 46 home runs and finished the season with a .257 / .372 / .592 slash line and he was fifth in the AL with 26 goals stolen.

On the mound, he pitched 130 1/3 innings in 23 starts with a 3.18 ERA, 29.3% strikeout rate and 8.3% walk rate. He’s the only player in MLB history to total at least 30 homers and 30 strikeouts in a season, and he finished with 156 strikeouts.

sports Gt

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.