Seoposenwe brace inspires Sporting Braga to first-ever Portuguese Cup title

The South African was on one double as the Gverreiras silenced SL Benfica to claim their first Cup victory at Aveiro Municipal Stadium.

Jermaine Seoposenwe hit a hug like Athletic Braga defeats SL Benfica 3-1 to win the Portuguese Women’s Cup title for the first time.

Before the 2019-2020 final match, the South Africa the international had played 84 minutes but couldn’t prevent Gverreiras from avoiding a 3-0 defeat to SL Benfica in the Women’s League Cup final last Wednesday.

On Tuesday, Seoposenwe clinched a starting place in coach Miguel Santos’ squad, while NigeriaChristy Ucheibe and Jolina Amani of Cape Verde were left on the bench by SL Benfica.

Hannah Keane, who replaced Cindy Konig on the starting roster, opened the scoring with her superb strike three minutes after Andreia Norton was shut down in the fifth minute for Braga.

Benfica, however, gained more possession and nearly leveled things off thanks to Andreia Faria after a build-up led by Matilde Fidalgo, but her effort sailed a few inches in the 19th minute.

After the half-time break, Filipa Patao’s side put more pressure on their opponents and found the equalizer crucial when Nycole managed Ana Seica’s precise cross in the 50th minute.

Braga stepped up to regain the lead when Seopensowe received a pass from Dolores Silva and continued to shoot his side forward, with a powerful strike from outside the box in the 64th minute.

Despite their weak lead, Braga did not rest on their laurels as Andreia Norton sent a pass to Myra Delgadillo, whose cross was led by Seoposenwe in the 78th minute to secure victory.

The result means that Sporting Braga are the 2019-20 winners of the Portuguese Women’s Cup after the triumph over the holders.

As well as being champions for the first time, they are also the ninth winner of the women’s tournament since 2003.

Seoposenwe, who celebrated his first major title for Braga, lasted the entire meeting and has now scored three goals in all competitions this season.

Ucheibe, on the other hand, couldn’t taste a minute of the game for Braga, while Amani replaced Fidalgo in the 68th minute.

In their next meetings, Braga will host Clube Condeixa on January 24, while SL Benfica will visit Albergaria on the same day.


Source link

Back to top button