NASCAR roster at Pocono: start order, pole for Sunday’s race

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Pocono Raceway, the second race of a double weekend on the Pennsylvania track, was established based on the results of Saturday’s opening race.

Pilot starting positions for the Explore the Pocono Mountains 350 (3:30 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN2, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were determined in two ways:

  • The final positions of the first 20 pilots were reversed. The winner of Saturday’s race will start 20th on Sunday and the final 20th will start on the pole.
  • The drivers who finished 21st to 38th on Saturday will start from the same positions on Sunday.

NASCAR has used the reversal for previous Pocono doubles programs and went there last year when the tracks hosted several races during the week due to schedule changes forced by the COVID-19 shutdown.

Below is the start list for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race on the Pocono Raceway 2.5-mile tri-oval:

MORE: Watch Saturday’s NASCAR Race Live with fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

Who won pole for Sunday’s NASCAR race at Pocono?

Chris Buescher will take the green flag on Sunday after finishing 20th in Saturday’s race. Buescher pushed back Austin Dillon for the “win” pole. Michael McDowell will join Buescher in the first row after a 19th place.

The rest of the top 10, respectively: Martin Truex Jr., Christopher Bell, Aric Almirola, Ricky Stenhouse Jr .. Bubba Wallace, Daniel Suarez, Chase Elliott and Tyler Reddick.

Race winner Alex Bowman will reverse from the 20th starting position.

Kyle Larson finished ninth on Saturday after his No.5 car’s front left tire burst on the last corner of the final lap, but has to move to the back of the field for the start of Sunday’s race as he will be driving a replacement car.

NASCAR starting eleven at Pocono

NASCAR used the official results of Saturday’s Pocono Organics 325 to define the composition of Sunday’s race at Pocono Raceway, Explore the Pocono Mountains 350. NASCAR reversed the order of the top 20 from Saturday’s race, resulting in means that the winner of the race will start 20th and the 20th will start from pole on Sunday. The last 18 in the 38-car peloton (21st to 38th) on Saturday were given the same positions as on Sunday.

Pos. Driver Car number Team
1 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
2 Michael mcdowell 34 Motorsports in the first row
3 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe gibbs racing
4 Christophe bell 20 Joe gibbs racing
5 Aric almirola ten Stewart-Haas Race
6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Girls Race
7 Bubba wallace 23 23XI Race
8 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
9 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
ten Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
11 Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
12 Kyle Larson * 5 Hendrick Motorsports
13 Kevin harvic 4 Stewart-Haas Race
14 Joey logano 22 Penske team
15 Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
16 Ryan blaney 12 Penske team
17 Denny hamlin 11 Joe gibbs racing
18 Guillaume Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
19 Kyle busch 18 Joe gibbs racing
20 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
21 Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
22 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
23 Ryan precece 37 JTG Girls Race
24 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Race
25 Cody ware 51 Small items shopping
26 Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsports in the first row
27 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
28 James davison 15 Rick ware racing
29 Garrett smithley 53 Rick ware racing
30 BJ McLeod 78 Experience fast motor sports
31 Quin Houff 00 Starcom Race
32 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood brothers racing
33 Ross chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
34 Josh bilicki 52 Rick ware racing
35 Timmy hill 66 Business management in motorsport
36 Corey Lajoie 7 Spire Motorsports
37 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
38 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Race

* Larson will start at the back of the field and race in a rescue car on Sunday due to an accident in Saturday’s race.

Source link

Back to top button