Indy 500 live updates, results, highlights from the 2021 race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

It’s finally time to watch the biggest racing spectacle ever.

The drivers will participate today in the Indianapolis 500 with the ambition to win the trophy and a glass of milk. And for the first time since 2019, it will be in front of the fans.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway opened to 135,000 people to attend the race in person, the largest gathering since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sporting News follows live updates and highlights from the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday. Follow for the full results of the 2021 race at the Brickyard.

MORE: Watch the Indy 500 Live with fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

Indy 500 live updates, 2021 race highlights

12h54: Power went from his starting position of 32 to 25 on lap 7.

12:50 p.m .: Rinus VeeKay is in the lead for the start with Colton Herta in second and Scott Dixon in third on lap 5 of the race.

12:47: The race has started.

12:45 p.m .: NBC show saying Will Power’s car didn’t start, but now he’s rolling and he has to catch up to the last row.

12:40 p.m .: The drivers were ordered to start their engines.

12:40 p.m .: Jim Cornelison sings “Back Home in Indiana” before the race.

12h31: Listen to the signing of the national anthem.

12:20 p.m .: Pre-race ceremonies are underway.

12:16 p.m .: Fans are on hand to watch the race. Take a look at the sight of fans crowded into the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

12:03 p.m .: As the drivers are introduced, last year’s winner Takuma Sato receives a standing ovation for the first time in front of fans since winning his second Indy 500.

How to watch the Indianapolis 500

  • Time: 12:45 p.m. ET
  • TV channel: NBC
  • Live broadcast : NBC Sports | Peacock | fuboTV

For those who won’t be able to watch the Indy 500 on cable, there are plenty of options to stream the greatest racing spectacle. Instead of purchasing the NBC Sports Gold IndyCar Pass like in previous years, racing fans can subscribe to Peacock Premium, which will have access to all IndyCar racing content from the previous service.

There are also other options for streaming. Below are the links for each.

Starting line-up for the Indy 500

Most of the 33 cars in the Indy 500 starting line-up were established on May 22, when the 10-30 spots were set based on qualifying times. The nine fastest drivers then took part in the Fast Nine Shootout to establish the order of the first nine places.

Here are the full Indianapolis 500 qualifying results:

Pos. Car number Driver
1 9 Scott Dixon
2 26 Colton Herta
3 21 Rinus VeeKay
4 20 Ed Carpentier
5 48 Tony kanaan
6 ten Alex Palou
7 28 Ryan hunter-reay
8 6 Helio Castronèves
9 8 Marcus Ericsson
ten 27 Alexandre rossi
11 18 Ed jones
12 5 Pato O’Ward
13 51 Pietro fittipaldi
14 7 Felix Rosenqvist
15 30 Takuma soto
16 29 James hinchcliffe
17 3 Scott McLaughlin
18 15 Graham rahal
19 47 Conor Daly
20 60 Jack Harvey
21 2 Josef newgarden
22 1 JR Hildebrand
23 45 Santino Ferrucci
24 86 Juan Pablo Montoya
25 98 Marco andretti
26 22 Simon pagenaud
27 14 Sebastien bourdais
28 25 Stefan Wilson
29 59 Max Chilton
30 4 Dalton kellett
31 24 Sage Karam
32 12 Will
33 16 Simona de Silvestro

Source link

Back to top button