USA News

huffpost – MLB suspends political donations after Capitol riot: AP

NEW YORK (AP) – Major League Baseball is suspending all political contributions following the invasion of the U.S. Capitol last week by a crowd loyal to President Donald Trump, joining a wave of big business rethinking their efforts to lobby Washington.

“In light of the unprecedented events of the past week on the Capitol Hill, MLB is suspending contributions from its Political Action Committee pending a review of our political contribution policy going forward,” the league said in a statement. released to The Associated Press on Wednesday.

Following last week’s uprising by Trump supporters as Congress tried to certify the presidential election results, many companies have said they will avoid donating to members of the House and the Senate who voted to overturn President-elect Joe Biden’s victory over Trump. Others, like the MLB, have completely deferred political donations to both political parties.

MLB is the first of the major professional sports leagues to say it will change its lobbying strategy in the wake of the deadly Capitol riots.

The Office of the Commissioner of Major League Baseball’s Political Action Committee has donated $ 669,375 to Senate and House candidates since the 2016 election cycle, with 52.4% of that money going to Republican candidates, according to the Center for Responsive Politics.

Among his lobbying successes was a bill in 2018 that exempted minor league baseball players who earned as little as $ 5,500 per season from federal minimum wage laws, preventing a lawsuit brought by three players. years earlier. The “Save America’s Pastime Act” appeared on page 1,967 of a $ 1.3 trillion spending bill.

Since the 2016 election cycle, MLB has made contributions to two senators and nine representatives who were among those opposed to certifying Biden’s victory.

Senate Republicans are Ted Cruz (Texas) and Cindy Hyde-Smith (Mississippi), and House Republicans are Roger Williams (Texas), Kevin McCarthy (California), David Schweikert (Arizona), Steve Chabot (Ohio), Markwayne Mullin (Oklahoma), Adrian Smith (Nebraska), Michael Burgess (Texas), Rick Crawford (Arkansas) and Elise Stefanik (New York).

Follow Jake Seiner:

More AP MLB: and


Source link

Back to top button