F1: UK Mexico Grand Prix race start time, grid positions and how can I watch on TV today?


he second half of a double-header ends Formula 1’s stay in North America this season with today’s Mexico City Grand Prix.

It might have been a familiar result in Austin last weekend, but there was plenty of entertainment to be had as Max Verstappen claimed his 13th win of 2022, wrapping up the Constructors’ Championship for Red Bull.

Second place from Lewis Hamilton and a decent performance from Ferrari, including Carlos Sainz snatching pole position before being thrown by George Russell on the first lap, should mean plenty of competition at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

However, Verstappen has won three of the last four games at the Mexican altitude and will be the favorite to do so again.


When is the Mexico Grand Prix?

The F1 Grand Prix of Mexico takes place today, Sunday October 30, 2022.

What time is the Mexico Grand Prix?

The weekend program began with early testing, led by Carlos Sainz, with the FP2 largely focused on testing next year’s Pirelli tyres.

Saturday featured final practice at 6 p.m., which George Russell dominated, and a qualifying session at 9 p.m. which saw Russell lose to Verstappen.

The 71-lap race takes place at 8pm BST today.


How can I watch the Mexico Grand Prix?

TV channel: In the UK, the race will be shown live on Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports Main Event. Grand Prix coverage on Sunday begins at 6.30pm on F1 before the race starts at 8pm BST.

Free highlights will be available to watch on Channel 4 at 1:05.

Direct: Sky Sports subscribers can also stream the race action live online via the SkyGo app.

LIVE Blog: You can also follow the race as it happens with Standard Sport’s live blog.

Who is in pole position for the Mexico Grand Prix?

Max Verstappen clinched pole position for Sunday’s Mexican Grand Prix after beating George Russell and Lewis Hamilton to first place.

A day after his Red Bull team was fined £6million for breaking Formula 1 financial rules, Verstappen pulled off a stunning lap through the breathless air of Mexico City to claim the qualifying spoils .

Russell finished second, 0.304 seconds behind Verstappen, with Hamilton 0.309 seconds behind.

Complete grid positions for the Mexican Grand Prix

1. Max Verstappen, Netherlands, 1 minute, 17.775 seconds.

2. George Russell, Great Britain, 1:18.079.

3. Lewis Hamilton, Great Britain, 1:18.084.

4. Sergio Perez, Mexico, 1:18.128.

5. Carlos Sainz Jr, Spain, 1:18.351.

6. Valtteri Bottas, Finland, 1:18.401.

7. Charles Leclerc, Monaco, 1:18.555.

8. Lando Norris, Great Britain, 1:18.721.

9. Fernando Alonso, Spain, 1:18.939.

10. Esteban Ocon, France, 1:19.010.

Eliminated after the second session

11. Daniel Ricciardo, Australia, 1:19.325.

12. Guanyu Zhou, China, 1:19.476.

13. Yuki Tsunoda, Japan, 1:19.589.

14. Pierre Gasly, France, 1:19.672.

15. Kevin Magnussen, Denmark, 1:19.833.

Eliminated after the first session

16. Mick Schumacher, Germany, 1:20.419.

17. Sebastian Vettel, Germany, 1:20.419.

18. Lance Stroll, Canada, 1:20.520.

19. Alexander Albon, Thailand, 1:20.859.

20. Nicholas Latifi, Canada, 1:21.167.

Sports standard

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button