Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

Congress’s Arjun Singh defeats BJP’s Sharadendu Tiwari by 27,777 votes


Congress’ Arjun Singh wins by a substantial margin, defeating BJP’s Sharadendu Tiwari by 27,777 votes in Churhat Assembly constituency. Churhat, located in Vindhya Pradesh region of Sidhi district of Madhya Pradesh, witnessed polling on November 17 in the state elections for 230 Assembly constituencies.

The Assembly seat falls to the Sidhi Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2018 Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections, Shardendu Tiwari of the Bharatiya Janata Party defeated Congress candidate Ajay Arjun Singh by a narrow margin.

Tiwari received 71,909 votes, securing 45.47% of the votes. He won the seat by a margin of 6,402 votes. In percentage terms, the margin of victory was 4.05%.

Interestingly, in the 2013 Vidhan Sabha elections, Singh was declared the winner from Churhat. He defeated Tiwari by over 19,000 votes.

This time, Shardendu Tiwari and Ajay Arjun Singh clashed again. While Singh is looking forward to reclaiming the Churhat seat, Tiwari is planning to repeat the result of the 2018 Assembly polls.

Ajay Singh is the son of former Union Minister and former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh Arjun Singh.

There are a total of 2,64,270 voters in Churhat. Of this total, 1,37,325 are males and 1,26,939 are females. The constituency has a literacy level of 64.43%.



Back to top button