Skip to content
Club of the year!  Chelsea’s male and female stars gather at Stamford Bridge to celebrate the Ballon d’Or gong

The Tars of Chelsea’s men’s and women’s teams gathered at Stamford Bridge last night to celebrate as the Blues were crowned Club of the Year at the Ballon d’Or.

Last season, Chelsea became the first club to see their men’s and women’s teams reach the Champions League final in the same campaign, with Thomas Tuchel’s side lifting the trophy while Emma Hayes’ side finished second in Barcelona.

Tuchel and Hayes were joined by players from both teams for a dinner at the Bridge as they virtually tune in to the ceremony in Paris.

Figures like Romelu Lukaku, Jorginho, Mason Mount, Cesar Azpilicueta and Edouard Mendy – all nominated for awards – were unable to make it to France before Wednesday night’s Premier League meeting with Watford, but donned their tuxedos to watch Lionel Messi win a seventh Ballon d’Or. The majority of Chelsea’s women are on international assignments, but Danish striker Pernille Harder was present at the Bridge.

Chelsea FC via Getty Images

In addition to their collective prize, it was a good night for Chelsea individually, with Jorginho and Australia striker Sam Kerr finishing third in the votes for the men’s and women’s Ballon d’Or, respectively. In total, Chelsea had four players in the top ten for the women’s award, with Harder finishing seventh, Jessie Fleming ninth and Fran Kirby tenth.

After Jorginho, N’Golo Kante was Chelsea’s second-highest ranked male player, fifth, with Lukaku 12th, Mount 19th and club captain Azpilicueta, 29th.

Mendy, meanwhile, finished second behind Italian goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma in the vote for the Yashin Trophy, honoring the best goalkeeper of the year.


Sports standard

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.