Skip to content
Byaruhanga determined to make Uganda proud after Chan’s appeal

The youngster was impressive for the Hippos in the Cecafa U20 Championship and he had the chance to impress in Cameroon

Uganda Cranes midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga has pledged to deliver for the country in the African Nations Championship competition slated to start in mid-January in Cameroon.

The Vipers SC midfielder was one of the players who impressed when the Hippos won the Council of East and Central Africa Football Associations U20 Championship held in Tanzania. The youngster did not hide his joy after being included in the 25-person team that left for West Africa on Monday afternoon.

“I am ready to give my all and do my best whenever I get the chance to don the national team colors because I know that in doing so I make many people at home proud,” Byaruhanga said before departure.

“I am proud to have received this summons, it is a special thing for me because there is so much talent in the group and everyone is giving everything. I feel proud and filled with joy knowing that I have a chance to represent my country at the Chan tournament.

“Above all, I am grateful to God, who has blessed me from day one, he deserves all the praise and honor and I pray that he guides us so that we come out victorious in Chan.”

Young Venom urged the Ugandans to rally behind the national team to give them motivation and confidence ahead of the game.

“I call on all Ugandans to rally behind us as we rise to the challenge as they are our greatest support and with them we are able to face our opponents with vigor,” Byaruhanga concluded.

Ugandan head coach Johnathan McKinstry on Monday named a 25-man squad for the next mini-tournament in Cameroon ahead of Chan.

The pre-Chan tournament consists of Cameroon, Niger and Zambia and will be played from January 1-7.

McKinstry will lead the team alongside Livingstone Mbabazi and Abdallah Mubiru acting as his assistants. Hamid Juma has been chosen as the head of the delegation while the performance coach is Alexander McCarthy.

Sadiq Wasswa will take over the coaching responsibilities of the goalkeepers.

Geoffrey Massa is the team manager while Samuel Hassan Mulondo and Ayub Balyejusa will serve as the men’s kit.

Itinerant players:

Goalkeepers: Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume FC), Nafian Alionzi (URA FC), Tom Ikara (Police FC)

Defenders: Eric Ssenjobe (Police FC), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers SC), Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Ashraf Mandela (URA FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Mustafa Mujuzi (Kyetume FC), Patrick Mbowa (URA FC), Hassan Muhammad (Police FC)

Midfielders: Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC), Tony Mawejje (Police FC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants FC)

Attackers: Ben Ocen (Police FC), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers SC), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants FC), Joseph Ssemujju (BUL FC), Joakim Ojera (URA FC), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Stephen Mukwala (URA FC), Mohamed Shaban (Vipers SC).


Source link