breaking news Second round of regional and departmental elections – RT in French

breaking news

After a first round marked by a record abstention and a stone’s throw from the presidential election, the second round of the French regional and departmental elections takes place on June 27.

This June 27 takes place the second round of regional and departmental elections throughout the national territory (metropolitan and overseas), after a first episode marked by a record abstention rate.

Polling stations have been open since 8 a.m. and will close at 6 p.m. in the vast majority of municipalities. In the most populous cities, this schedule is however postponed to 8 p.m.

As in the first round, given the Covid-19 epidemic, the polling stations will have to respect special health conditions: limitation to three of the number of voters present simultaneously in the station (six if the polling station is at both regional and departmental), priority queue outside for vulnerable people, provision of a hand washing point or hydroalcoholic gel, wearing of the compulsory mask, regular ventilation of the premises throughout the day, etc.

Regional elections

Regional councilors are normally elected for six years, but given the change in polling date in 2021, and the presidential election being held in 2027, the term of councilors elected that month will end in March 2028.

The regional council has the competence to promote the economic, social, health, cultural and scientific development of the region; support for access to housing and home improvement; support for city policy and urban renewal; support for education policies, development and equality of its territories; and finally, to ensure the preservation of its identity and the promotion of regional languages.

Departmental elections

The regional councilors are also elected for six years. Their term will end in March 2028.

The departmental councils are in charge of solidarity, social actions, health (elderly people, social assistance to children, handicap, RSA, APA); sustainable land use planning (protection of green spaces, departmental roads, departmental fire and rescue services); education, culture, sport (colleges, heritage preservation, libraries, sports facilities, departmental museums).

Several territories now constitute communities with special status which are not affected by these departmental elections. For example, since 2019, the City of Paris has been a collectivity with special status which replaced the municipality of Paris and the department of Paris (its deliberative assembly, the Paris council, is elected during municipal elections). The metropolis of Lyon, Guyana, Martinique, the Collectivité de Corse, are also communities with special status. The overseas communities (French Polynesia, Wallis-and-Futuna, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy) and New Caledonia are not departments and therefore have no departmental councils.

Source link

Back to top button