Skip to content
breaking news Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee thanks voters for Asansol and Ballygunge victory

Counting of votes for the by-votes at Asansol Lok Sabha Headquarters and Ballygunge Assembly Constituency began at 8am on Saturday; 66.42% of polls were recorded in Asansol Lok Sabha constituency and 41.23% were recorded in Ballygunge assembly constituency. The elections took place on April 12.

The by-elections were held to fill seats left vacant by Babul Supriyo’s party’s move from BJP to TMC and the death of Minister of State Subrata Mukherjee who represented Ballygunge constituency.

TMC lined up actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha in Asansol against BJP’s Agnimitra Paul. Babul Supriyo was lined up in Ballygunge against BJP’s Keya Ghosh and CPI(M)’s Saira Shah Halim.

Babul Supriyo at 1:30 p.m. leads with 33,000 votes in Ballygunge while Saira Shah Halim has about 25,500. Congress’ BJP Keya Ghosh and Kamruzzaman Choudhury have less than 5,500 and about 4,500 respectively. In Asansol, Shatrughan Sinha has a lead over BJP’s Agnimitra Paul. Sinha has nearly 4.7 lakh votes as of 1:30 p.m. His BJP counterpart is behind with less than 2.7 lakh votes. CPI(M)’s Partha Chatterjee has less than 63,000 votes.

Read also :

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Saturday thanked voters in Asansol Lok Sabha seat and Ballygunge assembly constituency for their by-election victories. The Chief Minister tweeted, “I sincerely thank the constituents of Asansol Parliamentary Constituency and Ballygunge Assembly Constituency for giving a decisive mandate to the candidates of the AITC party.”

“We consider this to be our people’s heartfelt Shubho Nababarsho gift to our Ma-Mati-Manush organization. Tribute to the voters for placing their trust in us, once again,” she added.

Apart from these two seats, counting is also underway for three other seats Bochachan in Bihar, Khairagarh in Chhattisgarh and Kolhapur North in Maharashtra.

First post: STI


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.