Skip to content
ABK20: JDT dominates 2020 National Football Awards

The 2020 National Football Awards saw Malaysian Super League champions Johor Darul Ta’zim win most of the major accolades.

Held virtually for the first time due to the current situation in the country, the 2020 short cut National Football Awards (ABK) took place on Wednesday evening with Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) becoming the big winners of the night.

The seven-time Super League champions were the sole winner of the trophy of a truncated 2020 season marred by the Covid-19 pandemic that engulfed the country, with the league suspended for six long months, as well as seeing the FA Cup and Malaysian Cup contests canceled.

JDT all major awards except one decided by a voting system. Farizal Marlias, Aidil Zafuan, Safawi Rasid, Benjamin Mora and the team themselves took top honors in their respective categories. The Southern Tigers scored another impressive title victory in 2020, ending the shortened season unbeaten for the second time in their short history.

Unlike in other years, the Most Valuable Player award this time went to fans of the M-League, not to a specific player. The ’12th player’ as they are normally referred to, the Malaysia Football League (MFL) have decided to present the award to fans in honor of their continued support for professional play.

Complete list of ABK20 winners

Premier League top local scorer: Danial Asri (Selangor 2) – 7 goals

Best goalie: Farizal Marlias (JDT)

Premier League top scorer: Casagrande (Pulau Pinang) – 9 goals

Best defender: Aidil Zafuan (JDT)

Top scorer in the local Super League: Shahrel Fikir (Perak) – 10 goals

Best midfielder: Safawi Rasid (JDT)

Top scorer in the Super League: Ifedayo Olusegun (Selangor) – 12 goals

Best striker: Shahrel Fikri (Perak)

Best coach: Benjamin Mora (JDT)

Golden boot: Ifedayo Olusegun (Selangor) – 12 goals

Best team: Johor Darul Ta’zim

Most Valuable Player: M-League fans


Source link