2021 NHL Stanley Cup Final: Times, TV Channels, How to Watch Lightning vs. Canadiens

Less than a year after the presentation of the Stanley Cup, there is still time for the NHL to crown its champion.

It will be familiar – either the defending champion or the franchise having done it 24 times, a record. Starting Monday, June 28, it will be the Lightning and the Canadiens in the 2021 Stanley Cup Final.

“They’re going to get the best team they’ve played against so far and we’re going to get the best team we’ve played against so far,” Lightning captain Steven Stamkos said after his team’s progress.

While the 2020 playoffs were interesting on their own, this year’s playoffs are even more funky as it is a clash of the Atlantic Division (normally). It also features two teams that haven’t faced each other since March 5, 2020, for the ultimate sport prize.

Here’s everything you need to know to watch the 2021 Stanley Cup Final.

Who plays the 2021 Stanley Cup final?

The Canadians advanced to the final round after knocking out the North Division champions Maple Leafs in seven, sweeping the Jets, then beating the NHL’s second-best team, the Golden Knights, in six. A day later, the Lightning advanced with a Game 7 victory over the Islanders. The defending champions started their journey in 2021 with a 4-2 series victory in the Battle of Florida with the Panthers before a five-game victory over the Central Division’s top team, the Hurricanes.

MORE: How the Canadiens won Game 6 | How the Lightning won Game 7

Where is the 2021 Stanley Cup final played?

Unlike last year’s bubble, teams will cross the border to compete for the Lord Stanley Cup. Games 1, 2, 5 and 7 will be in Tampa and games 3, 4 and 6 will be played in Montreal. The Canadian government and health officials have granted an exemption for the semi-finals to allow the Canadiens and the Golden Knights to make the round trip to Vegas. But like last year’s playoffs, in Canada, teams will be separated from the public in a bubble and will be tested daily for COVID-19, whether or not they are fully vaccinated.

What TV channels are showing the 2021 Stanley Cup Final games on?

United States (Game 1 and 2): NBCSN
United States (Games 3-7): NBC
Canada (Games 1-7): CBC, Sportsnet and TVA Sports

NHL Network will also provide extensive live coverage throughout the Stanley Cup Final.

MORE: Watch the Stanley Cup Final on fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

What is the schedule for the 2021 Stanley Cup Final?

Tampa Bay Lightning vs. Montreal Canadiens

Dated Match Time (TV channel)
Mon 28 June in Tampa Bay 8 p.m. (NBCSN, SN, CBC, TVA Sports)
Wednesday June 30 in Tampa Bay 8 p.m. (NBCSN, SN, CBC, TVA Sports)
Fri 2 July to Montreal 8 p.m. (NBC, SN, CBC, TVA Sports)
Monday July 5 to Montreal 8 p.m. (NBC, SN, CBC, TVA Sports)
*sea. July 7 in Tampa Bay 8 p.m. (NBC, SN, CBC, TVA Sports)
*Fri. July 9th to Montreal 8 p.m. (NBC, SN, CBC, TVA Sports)
*Sat. 11 July in Tampa Bay 7 p.m. (NBC, SN, CBC, TVA Sports)

(* If necessary)

Have the Lightning or the Canadiens ever won the Stanley Cup?

The Lightning are the reigning champions, having defeated the Stars in the 2020 playoffs. This was the franchise’s second time to win the Cup, with the other title coming in 2004 when they beat the Flames. in seven games. This list was edited by Vincent Lecavalier, Martin St. Louis and Conn Smythe winner Brad Richards.

Montreal is home to the most legendary franchise in the NHL with 24 Cups and a record 23 in the NHL since the league’s founding. The Canadians most recently won it in 1993, when they were backed by Conn Smythe winner Patrick Roy. This team was the last Canadian team to win the Stanley Cup, and it has been 10 years since a team north of the border (Canucks) was in the final round.

Who won the Stanley Cup from 2000 to 2020?

Pat Maroon of the Lightning has the chance to win back-to-back Stanley Cups; he was a member of the 2019 Blues Champions and was part of the Lightning team last year.

Year Champion Finalist Conn smythe
2020 Tampa Bay Lightning Dallas Stars Victor hedman
2019 Blues de Saint-Louis Boston Bruins Ryan o’reilly
2018 Washington Capitals Vegas Golden Knights Alexander Ovechkin
2017 Pittsburgh penguins Nashville Predators Sidney crosby
2016 Pittsburgh penguins San José sharks Sidney crosby
2015 Chicago Blackhawks Tampa Bay Lightning Duncan Keith
2014 Kings of Los Angeles New York Rangers Justin williams
2013 Chicago Blackhawks Boston Bruins Patrick kane
2012 Kings of Los Angeles New Jersey Devils Jonathan Rapide
2011 Boston Bruins Vancouver Canucks Thomas thomas
2010 Chicago Blackhawks Philadelphia Flyers Jonathan toews
2009 Pittsburgh penguins Detroit Red Wings Evgeni malkin
2008 Detroit Red Wings Pittsburgh penguins Henrik zetterberg
2007 Anaheim Ducks Ottawa Senators Scott Niedermayer
2006 Carolina Hurricanes Edmonton Oilers Cam room
2004 Tampa Bay Lightning Calgary Flames Brad richards
2003 New Jersey Devils The Mighty Ducks of Anaheim JS Giguère *
2002 Detroit Red Wings Carolina Hurricanes Nicklas Lidstrom
2001 Colorado Avalanche New Jersey Devils Patrick roy
2000 New Jersey Devils Dallas Stars Scott Stevens

* The winner Conn Smythe was on the losing team in the Stanley Cup Final.

Source link

Back to top button