Skip to content

2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship: time, TV channel, live broadcast, schedule

It’s been over two years since the women hit the ice, but the 2021 IIHF World Women’s Championship is officially here.

After the 2020 edition was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic and this year’s tournament moved from April to May to August, the best players from around the world have now come down to Canada to compete for the gold.

The United States are aiming for their sixth consecutive championship dating from 2013 (the world championships do not take place in Olympic years). USA Hockey’s last title, in 2019, sparked controversy after an overtime goal from Finland was canceled and the Americans won in a shootout.

The Finns advanced to the final after beating Canada 4-2 in the semifinals. The loss marked the first time Canada did not play for gold in tournament history. Canada has won the most gold medals (10), but will seek its first since 2012.

As always, the Women’s World Championship should be filled with big goals, big saves and even bigger wins. With national pride at stake, the battle for gold will be fierce. Here’s everything you need to know about the tournament.

Where is the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

The 2021 IIHF World Women’s Championship will take place in a bubble at WinSport Arena in Calgary, Alta.

The tournament was originally scheduled to take place in Halifax and Truro, Nova Scotia, April 7-17. It was postponed from May 6 to 16 due to the ongoing pandemic, but on the morning of April 21, Hockey Canada was informed by the province that the tournament was canceled.

This year marks the eighth time that Canada will host the championship and the first time that the women’s tournament will be played in the province of Alberta. The last time Canada hosted, the Americans beat the host nation 1-0 in overtime in Kamloops, BC.

When will the 2021 Women’s World Championship take place?

The tournament will start on Friday August 20 and end with the presentation of the gold medals on August 31.

The group stage, with two groups of five teams each, ends on August 26. After a day of rest, eight teams will compete in the quarter-finals. The semi-finals will take place on August 30. The matches for the bronze medal and the gold medal will be played on August 31st.

What channel is the 2021 Women’s World Championship broadcast on?

  • TV Channel (United States): NHL Network
  • Live Streaming (US): ESPN +, fuboTV (7 day free trial)
  • TV Channel (Canada): TSN, RDS
  • Live Streaming (Canada): TSN Direct

Each Women’s World Championship game will be broadcast on TSN in Canada. RDS will cover all of Canada’s games, including the playoffs. NHL Network will broadcast all USA games with ESPN + carrying the remaining games.

Which teams are participating in the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

Ten teams, divided into two groups of five, participate. Each team in group A will qualify for the quarter-finals. Only three teams will come out of Group B, with the third best team playing against the best team in Group A.

group A Group B
United States Japan
Canada Germany
Finland Czech Republic
ROCK Denmark
Switzerland Hungary

Why is Russia listed as “ROC”?

The World Anti-Doping Agency banned Russia from participating in international competitions for four years last December. The ban includes the Olympic Games and the World Championships and the flag or name of Russia cannot be used. Athletes, however, are not prohibited from competing but may only do so under a neutral flag.

ROC stands for Russian Olympic Committee, and instead of the national anthem, Piotr Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 will be played.

Are fans allowed at the 2021 Women’s World Championship?

Hockey Canada announced on August 18 that fans will not be allowed to attend the preliminary games.

“While we would love to be able to welcome fans to Calgary’s WinSport Arena, our top priority is the health and safety of everyone involved, allowing the best female hockey players in the world to compete and ensure we can perform. of the medals on Aug. 31, ”Scott Smith, President and COO of Hockey Canada, said a statement released by the team.

Ranking of the 2021 Women’s World Championship

Considered as the “Power 5”, each team from Group A will advance to the quarter-finals. The top three teams in Group B will also qualify. Teams that lose in the quarter-finals will face off in a separate group, with the winning team taking fifth place and a place in Group A of the 2023 tournament.


Team Victories Losses OTL Points
1. Canada 4 0 0 12
2. United States 3 1 0 9
3. Finland 2 2 0 6
4. ROC 1 3 0 3
5. Switzerland 0 4 0 0


Team Victories Losses OTL Points
1. Czech Republic 4 0 0 12
2. Japan 3 1 0 9
3. Germany 2 2 0 6
4. Hungary 1 3 0 3
5. Denmark 0 4 0 0

Settlement wins = 3 points
Win in overtime = 2 points
Loss in overtime = 1 point

When is Canada versus the United States?

The 2021 edition of the Battle of North America will face off on August 26 in the preliminary round. Of course, there’s an expectation that there will be a rematch – but when can anyone guess.

Full schedule for the 2021 Women’s World Championship

The participating teams are each guaranteed four group stage matches. Teams that qualify for the last day of competition (bronze medal or gold medal match) will play a total of seven competitions.

(All Eastern hours)

Czech Republic 6, Denmark 1 2:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Canada 5, Finland 3 6:00 p.m. TSN, NHLN
United States 3, Switzerland 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Germany 3, Hungary 0 2:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
ROC 3, Switzerland 1 6:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Japan 1, Denmark 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Czech Republic 4, Hungary 2 2:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Canada 5, ROC 1 6:00 p.m. TSN, NHLN
United States 3, Finland 0 9:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Germany 3, Denmark 1 2:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Japan 0, Czech Republic 4 6:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
United States 6, ROC 0 2:00 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Switzerland 0, Canada 5 6:00 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Hungary 1, Japan 4 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
ROC 0, Finland 4 2:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Czech Republic 2, Germany 0 6:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Denmark 1, Hungary 5 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
Finland 2, Switzerland 0 2:00 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
United States 1, Canada 5 6:00 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Japan 2, Germany 1 9:30 p.m. TSN, ESPN +
QF: ROC 2, Switzerland 3 (HT) Noon TSN, NHLN
QF: United States 10, Japan 2 3:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
QF: Canada 7, Germany 0 7:00 p.m. TSN, NHLN
QF: Finland 1, Czech Republic 0 10:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
SF: United States 3, Finland 0 3:00 p.m. TSN, NHLN
SF: Canada 4, Switzerland 0 7:00 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Bronze: Finland 3, Switzerland 1 3:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN
Gold: United States versus Canada 7:30 p.m. TSN, NHLN

Who won the 2019 Women’s World Championship?

The United States won the last worlds after a controversial overtime decision. It was the Americans’ fifth consecutive gold medal.

WORLDS 2019: US wins gold after controversial OT move denies Finland

Who won the last 10 women’s world championships?

Year Winner Host country
2019 United States Finland
2017 United States United States
2016 United States Canada
2015 United States Sweden
2013 United States Canada
2012 Canada United States
2011 United States Switzerland
2009 United States Finland
2008 United States China
2007 Canada Canada

Which countries have won medals at the Women’s World Championship?

Country Gold Money Bronze Total
Canada ten 8 1 19
United States 9 ten 0 19
Finland 0 1 12 13
Russia 0 0 3 3
Sweden 0 0 2 2
Switzerland 0 0 1 1

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.